RBGE Certificate in Practical Horticulture

Updated 24th January 2024

The RBGE Certificate in Practical Horticulture* at Glasgow Botanic Gardens is a 10-day course that will give you the fundamental practical skills of a horticulturist.

The course is offered in partnership with the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh and is coordinated and delivered by Lisa Swift, Billy Kenny and the Friends of Glasgow Botanic Gardens. Tutors Billy, Lisa and other members of the Glasgow Botanic Gardens’ staff bring a wealth of horticultural knowledge and expertise to this project.

The course fees are £550, including £50 non-refundable deposit.

Please fill in an application form in the drop down below if you would like to join the course.

You can access module information in the handbook below.

CPH Handbook Glasgow 2022

*Please note this is not an RHS course.

CPH01   Looking at Plants – Saturday, 23th March

CPH02   Soil Care – Saturday, 6th April

CPH03   Feeding & Watering – Saturday, 13th April

CPH04   Seed Propagation – Saturday, 20th April

CPH05   Vegetative Propagation – Sunday, 21st April

CPH06   Growing Media & Potting – Saturday, 27th April

CPH07   Planting – Saturday, 11th May

CPH08   Pruning & Training – Sunday, 12th May

Revision Day – Saturday, 18th May

Assessment – Saturday, 1st June

CPH01   Looking at Plants – Saturday, 17th August

CPH02   Soil Care – Saturday, 24th August

CPH03   Feeding & Watering – Saturday, 31st August

CPH04   Seed Propagation – Saturday, 7th September

CPH05   Vegetative Propagation – Saturday, 14th September

CPH06   Growing Media & Potting – Saturday, 21st September

CPH07   Planting – Saturday, 5th October

CPH08   Pruning & Training – Sunday, 6th October

Revision Day – Sunday, 20th October

Assessment – Saturday, 2nd November